Unser Beirat

Science creates knowledge. Germany's most renowned experts advise us on our way to a sustainable future, where business and ecology go hand in hand.

Prof. Dr. Ottmar Edenhofer

Ottmar Edenhofer is professor at the Technical University of Berlin and is considered one of the world's leading experts on the economics of climate change. He is Director and Chief Economist at the Potsdam Institute for Climate Impact Research (PIK).

In 2012 he was appointed director of the newly founded Mercator Research Institute on Global Commons and Climate Change (MCC). An external scientific review panel appointed on behalf of Stiftung Mercator in 2015 rated the work of the MCC as "excellent".

The FAZ repeatedly ranked Edenhofer among the 15 most influential economists in Germany. He is also among the 1% of the world's most influential scientists due to his significant publications in scientific journals.

He accompanied 47 successfully completed doctoral projects as first reviewer and currently supervises almost 20 doctoral students. His former doctoral students, some of whom have since been appointed to professorships, have received prestigious awards for their theses.

Edenhofer's work has been taken up by the New York Times, The Economist, China Daily Nature, Der Spiegel, ARD, ZDF and Deutschlandfunk, among others. He writes regularly for major media publications such as DIE ZEIT, Süddeutsche Zeitung and Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung.

Prof. Dr. Axel Ockenfels

Dr. Axel Ockenfels studied economics in Bonn, then spent extended research periods in Magdeburg, at Penn State University and Harvard University before moving to the Max Planck Institute in Jena as Emmy-Noether junior research group leader. In 2003 he was appointed Professor of Economics at the University of Cologne. There he founded the Laboratory for Economic Research and headed the Energy Economics Institute until 2007. After a stopover with a visiting professorship at Stanford University, he has managed the "Center of Excellence for Social and Economic Behavior" at Cologne University since 2015, where over 100 scientists from various disciplines conduct research.

Ockenfels is a member of the European, the Berlin-Brandenburg and the North Rhine-Westphalian Academy of Sciences and Humanities and the German Academy of Science and Engineering acatech. He is also a member of the Scientific Advisory Board of the Federal Ministry of Economics and Energy. He has received numerous awards for his work in behavioural research and on the practical design of markets and incentives, including in 2005, as the first economist in 17 years, the most important German research prize, the Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz Prize of the German Research Foundation, and in 2018 the most important European research prize, the Advanced Grant of the European Research Council.

Prof. Dr. Volker Quaschning

Volker Quaschning is head of the Department of Renewable Energy Systems at the University of Applied Sciences - HTW Berlin. He is the spokesman for the course of studies in regenerative energies and co-initiator of the group "Scientists for Future".

As an industry expert he has been operating his own independent internet portal on renewable energies and climate protection for many years: www.volker-quaschning.de

He is the author of several books on renewable energies and brings practical experience from his work as project manager for solar system analysis at the German Aerospace Center.

Learn more

Prof. Dr. Hans-Ulrich Zabel

Prof. Dr. Zabel studied "Economic Cybernetics" at the TH Magdeburg from 1969 to 1973. He received his doctorate in 1979 and then habilitated at the TU Magdeburg in 1988. Until 2016, he held the chair "Business Administration - especially Corporate Environmental Management" at the MLU Halle/Saale. Prof. Dr. Zabel was a member of the Scientific Advisory Board "Environmental and Economic Accounting" of the Federal Ministry of the Environment and received the Schubert Environmental Prize in 1995.

He is a member of the Scientific Commission "Sustainability Management" at the Association of University Lecturers in Business Administration. Three of his former colleagues are also professors in the field of sustainability management (Prof. Siebenhüner, Prof. Martin Müller, Prof. Antes). He is a member of the Saxon Academy of Sciences and Humanities (Commissions "Environmental Problems" and "Science and Values" with the research focus on "Sustainability Management" and "Behavioral Research for Sustainability".

Learn more